DENNISTOUN COMMUNITY COUNCIL MINUTES OF A.G.M. HELD AT WHITEHILL SCHOOL 11/10/11

Present: Stephen Birrell (chair), Lauren Amazeen, Jenny Boyd, Janette Cochrane, Jane Clarke, Brian Johnston, Ruth Johnston, Mary McCabe, Helen McCarthy, Anne McKenna, Jenny Mulholland, Frank Plowright, Louise Williams, Wesley Wright (Council Members), Councillors Jennifer Dunn and Alison Thewliss, MSPs Paul Martin, John Mason and Humza Yousaf

Members of the public: Margaret Donarski, Elizabeth Shearer, Matty Sutton

Apologies: Councillors Frank Docherty and Elaine McDougall, MSPs Ruth Davidson, Patrick Harvie, and George Redmond

Minutes provided by Frank Plowright

- 1. INTRODUCTION: There are no minutes from the previous A.G.M. as no A.G.M. was held in 2010. Dennistoun Community Council was largely inactive from the summer due to declining membership. A fresh start was made with an increased membership in January.
- 2. CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT: The reconstituted Community Council consists of the full 15 members. The membership consists of both people who've given long service to the Community Council and the wider community and new members made aware of the organisation's declining membership in December. A revised constitution was adopted and new office bearers elected. The Community Council strives for openness and full availability and transparency, and has been particularly successful in raising the public profile via the website, for which thanks were given to Wesley. There's also a new identity via a logo, banners and information postcards, thanks to Ruth. A more formal report will be provided on the website along with a visual report including the Community Council's participation in the Alexandra Park Festival and sponsorship of the Dennistoun Treasure Hunt for primary school children.
- 3. TREASURER'S REPORT: As the accounting year runs from April to March, annual accounts haven't been made up to October, but in future to reflect common practice with Glasgow Community Councils the financial year will run from October to September in future. The current bank balance is £2649.08 with cash in hand of £169.40, but expenses totalling almost £400 in cheques written and cash refunds will be subtracted from those amounts. These include £150 for postcards and banners, £200 for Treasure Hunt prizes, £18 for A.G.M. refreshments and assorted smaller amounts. The Community Council receives an annual grant partially based on area population, and dependant on membership. In April we received £650.01
- 4. NEW STANDING ORDERS AND CODE OF CONDUCT: These have been provided by Glasgow City Council, refining and establishing a consistency of practice among community councils, and clarifying their purpose. They can consist of up to 15 members, with five constituting a quorum along with associate members if desired.
- 5. CONSTITUTION: The new constitution as provided by Glasgow City Council was adopted. It's a variation of the one supplied in January, and each council member was sent a copy. Members would sign agreement after the meeting.
- 6. OFFICE BEARERS: The new constitution requires all office bearers to stand down at an A.G.M. with an election to fill the posts. Stephen Birrell was proposed as Chair by Mary McCabe and seconded by Helen McCarthy. Louise Williams was proposed as Vice-Chair by Stephen Birrell and seconded by Janette Cochrane. Janette Cochrane was proposed as Secretary by Louise Williams and seconded by Mary McCabe. Frank Plowright was proposed as Minute Secretary by Jane Clarke and seconded by

Wesley Wright. All were the previous office bearers and all were elected unopposed. Helen McCarthy has resigned as Treasurer, but wishes to continue as a Community Council member. As no-one volunteered for the position, it was deferred to Glasgow City Council's Community Resource Group to provide support.

- EAST CENTRE AREA COMMITTEE: Anne McKenna was proposed as DCC representative by Ruth Johnson and seconded by Helen McCarthy and Ruth Johnson was proposed as Deputy by Lauren Amazeen and seconded by Mary McCabe. Both were re-elected unopposed.
- 8. COMMUNITY REFERENCE GROUP: There is some doubt as to the long term future of Community Reference Groups. For the time being Stephen Birrell was proposed as DCC representative by Janette Cochrane and seconded by Louise Williams, and Janette Cochrane proposed as deputy by Stephen Birrell and seconded by Mary McCabe. Both renewed their positions unopposed.
- 9. For the past few years Rita Cooper has been the independent examiner of the Community Council accounts, but she no longer wishes to continue doing this. This is not a position requiring accountancy qualifications and a full audit, but scrutiny from someone who is proficient and can rule that everything is above board. The Community Council Resource Centre will be asked to examine the accounts to October this year, and we will look for someone else suitable for next year.
- 10. NEXT A.G.M.: The next A.G.M. will be on Tuesday October 9th 2012 at &pm in Whitehill School.
- The meeting ended with the chair thanking local elected officials for their support over the past year and stressing that members of the public are welcome at all regular meetings of Dennistoun Community Council.