DENNISTOUN COMMUNITY COUNCIL (DCC) MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON 11th JANUARY 2011 IN WHITEHILL SECONDARY SCHOOL

PRESENT:

Helen McCarthy, Annette Fowler, Jenny Boyd, Jenny Mulholland, Anne McKenna, Mary McCabe, Lauren Dyer Amazeen, Ruth Johnston, Brian Johnston, Frank Plowright, Jane Clarke, Wesley Wright, Janette Cochrane

IN ATTENDANCE:

Ian Law CCRC and 3 Members of the public

APOLOGIES:

Stephen Birrell

1. INTRODUCTION & WELCOME:

1.1. Ian Law welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked those that had submitted nomination forms to fill the vacancies.

2. APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS:

Ian Law confirmed that 6 candidates submitted valid nominations for the election to fill vacancies. These are as listed in the table below:

Candidate	Address
Lauren Dyer Amazeen	1 Seton Terrace
Frank Plowright	149 Onslow Drive
Stephen Birrell	45 Broompark Drive
Mary McCabe	25 Circus Drive
Brian Johnston	4 Westercraigs
Ruth Johnston	4 Westercraigs

The above candidates were duly elected unopposed.

In addition to the above candidates 3 Nominations were submitted at the meeting as listed in the table below:

Candidate	Address
Wesley Wright	23 Finlay Drive
Jane Clarke	149 Onslow Drive
Janette Cochrane	48 Craigpark Drive

The nominations for the above 3 candidates were unanimously accepted by the 6 members previously elected in October and the 6 elected through the filling vacancies process. The above candidates were duly elected unopposed.

3. APPROVAL OF CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS:

3.1. Ian confirmed that the constitution has been amended as discussed at

the previous meeting and approved by Glasgow City Council. The amendments were unanimously accepted and copies of the revised constitution were provided to all members.

4. APPOINTMENT OF OFFICE BEARERS:

The election of office bearers were as follows:

Chairperson	Stephen Birrell
Proposed	Helen McCarthy
Seconded	Brian Johnston
Vice-Chair	Louise Williams
Proposed	Helen McCarthy
Seconded	Anne McKenna
Secretary	Janette Cochrane
Proposed	Annette Fowler
Seconded	Jenny Boyd
Treasurer	Helen McCarthy
Proposed	Annette Fowler
Seconded	Jenny Mulholland
Minute Secretary	Frank Plowright

willule Secretary	i fallk í lówrigitt
	Unanimous

5. APPOINTMENT OF AREA REPRESENTATIVES:

Election of Area Committee Representative

Representative	Anne McKenna
Proposed	Helen McCarthy
Seconded	Annette Fowler

Election of Area Committee Substitute Representative

Substitute Rep	Ruth Johnston
Proposed	Lauren Dyer Amazeen
Seconded	Mary McCabe

Election of Community Reference Group Representative

Representative Deferred for future discussion

6. FINANCE REPORT:

6.1. This item is on the agenda to make all members aware that new signatories are required for the bank account. Normally any cheque or payment would be signed by two from three signatories; the signatories would normally be the treasurer, secretary and chairperson.

6.2. The existing treasurer, Helen McCarthy, agreed to arrange to collect forms from the bank and to coordinate the changeover process.

6.3. Helen confirmed that there is circa \pounds 3,000 of funds available in the account. Some discussion took place as to how best to spend these funds. Ian agreed to provide a copy of the guidance on financial

management to everyone so that they could discuss the future spending plan. Suggestions such as a public meeting and the production and distribution of a newsletter were prominent.

7. CORRESPONDENCE:

lan handed over two items of correspondence for information as timescales for responses had passed.

8. DATE AND PLACE FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

8.1. Future meetings will be held in Whitehill Secondary School on the second Tuesday of the month at 7.00 p.m.

Ian thanked everyone for attending and for ensuring the continuation of Dennistoun Community Council. This concluded the business of the meeting.