

Dennistoun Community Council

email : hello@dennistouncc.org.uk www.DennistounCC.org.uk <u>DENNISTOUN COMMUNITY COUNCIL</u> <u>DRAFT MINUTES OF A.G.M. HELD AT WHITEHILL SCHOOL 8/10/13</u>

- Present:
 Stephen Birrell (chair), John Bones, Jane Clarke, Brian Johnston, Ruth Johnston, Anne McKenna, Vicky Melvin, Frank Plowright, Wesley Wright (Council Members), Councillor Jennifer Dunn Craig Donaldson, Karen Donaldson, Bernard Elliott, Joe Scott from Milnbank Housing, Minister Yenka Ogunnoiki, PC ?
- Apologies:Naila Akram, Lauren Amazeen, Andrew Campbell, Helen McCarthy and Louise
Williams, MSPs Hanzala Malik, Anne McTaggart and Humza Yousaf, Councillors
Elaine McDougall, Russell Robertson, and Alison Thewliss

Minutes provided by Frank Plowright

- 1. PREVIOUS MINUTES: The minutes from the 2012 A.G.M. were approved in December 2012 and there are no matters arising.
- 2. CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT: Provided in writing and appended. Stephen highlighted the increased opportunities for public participation via re-shaping the meeting agenda with an earlier slot for public comments, and we're one of only four community councils meeting monthly. We've contributed to city-wide projects such as the Community Councils Liaison Group and the Factoring Commision, and responded to several consultations. For the year ahead DCC will seek to further our engagement with residents and partners across Dennistoun.
- 3. TREASURER'S REPORT: The opening balance was £2412.62 and accounts calculated to 8/10/12 show a balance of £1799.44, with two cheques to be presented. There is also the matter of an outstanding bill from Bridgeton Community Learning Campus for approximately £60. The problems over the past year in having Royal Bank of Scotland changing signatories to the account have led to us switching the account to the Co-Op, and this has almost been set up. 2011-12 accounts still require verification, resulting in us not receiving this year's admin allowance. Jane will ensure this year's accounts are verified by an independent assessor before submission.
- 4. This was the final act of the Community Council's office bearers who were at this point considered to have stood down. Brian Johnston took over the meeting.
- 5. OFFICE BEARERS: Stephen Birrell was proposed as Chair by Jane Clarke and seconded by Ruth Johnson. Although not present Louise Williams was proposed as Vice-Chair by Wesley Wright and seconded by Frank Plowright on the basis that we had received no notification that she intended to resign. Wesley Wright was proposed as Secretary by Anne McKenna and seconded by Stephen Birrell. Jane Clarke was proposed as treasurer by John Bones and seconded by Stephen Birrell. Frank Plowright was proposed as Minute Secretary by Jane Clarke and seconded by Ruth Johnson. All were elected unopposed.